Facebook has recently started introducing new services aimed at preserving and enhancing its members’ mental health. You can already combat bullies on Instagram by using the Restrict feature, which mutes all social interactions with them. Similar to this, Facebook’s Take a Break tool, which allows you to essentially mute any individual without having to unfriend or block them, was introduced a while back. It might be especially beneficial when a relationship has soured or when you disagree with a user. In order to discover how to stop communicating with someone on Facebook, read the instructions below.
Take a Break From Someone on Facebook (2021)
Here, we have thoroughly discussed every aspect of this Facebook tool. To access the appropriate section, use the table of contents below:
What Happens After You Take a Break From Someone on Facebook?
- First off, when you choose to take a break from someone on Facebook, the individual won t know about the changes that you have made on your side.
- After you take a break from someone, you will not see his/ her posts on your News Feed. Apart from that, Facebook also limits what that individual can see on your timeline. You can edit the privacy settings of your past posts with that individual and limit who can see those posts on Facebook.
- Take a break feature is pretty helpful on Facebook, especially when you have gone through a relationship change. However, you can use this feature for anyone, be it your friend, family member, or acquaintance.
- In the future, if you want to remove all the limitations from that individual, you can very well take off those restrictions in a few clicks.
How to Take a Break From Someone on Facebook
Using Mobile Browser
1. Open the profile of the person you wish to mute on Facebook if you are using a mobile web browser. Next, tap the Friends icon that is located next to the Message button. Then select Take a Break from the menu.
The stages that come next are described below. You may choose from a variety of privacy settings on Facebook to control who can and cannot view what information on your page. Additionally, you can decide whether or not you want their posts to show up in your News Feed here. In this manner, it will be simple for you to ignore someone on Facebook.
Using Facebook App
1. If you’re using the Facebook app, open the person’s profile and select the Friends option from the menu. Select Take a Break from the pop-up menu after that.
3. Following that, you will see a selection of options that will allow you to tailor the user’s Facebook behaviour in relation to you. First, select Limit where you see X from the See Options menu under the section labelled “See less of X.” Click Save after that. As a result, less of the person’s posts or tagged posts will appear in your News Feed and Timeline. Additionally, you won’t be asked to message the person or tag images that match their facial data.
4. After that, click See Options in the box labelled Limit what X will see. Select Hide your posts from X here, then press Save. The person will be placed on the Restricted List as a result of your action and will no longer be able to view or engage with any of your posts. Keep in mind that the person can view your postings if you’ve tagged them or if you’ve made them public. You’ll soon be taking a break from Facebook.
5. Select See choices from the Edit who can see previous postings section. Click on Save after selecting Edit all of my posts and posts that I’m tagged in. All of your postings in which both you and the person are tagged will have their visibility restricted by this feature. Meaning that nobody other than the people who are also tagged in those postings will be able to see them, not even your friends. In addition, you will no longer be tagged in that person’s postings and vice versa. Last but not least, anything you have written on the person’s timeline will be erased, and vice versa.
6. To undo all the modifications, select Take a break once more from the user’s profile. Then, open the relevant sections and apply the modifications once more so that they can communicate with you and view your posts. If you’re wondering how long a sabbatical on Facebook can last, let me be clear that there is no time restriction. To remove all the restrictions, you will need to make the modifications manually.
Take a Break on Facebook to Improve Your Mental Health
So that’s how you may use Facebook’s Take a Break tool to make amends with someone with whom you disagree. It won’t block or unfriend the user, but it will essentially remove them from your online social network. Visit the article we specifically dedicated to these new Facebook features in 2021 by clicking the link provided. Furthermore, you can lock your Facebook profile in a few easy steps if you are concerned about anyone spying on you. Please leave your questions in the comments section below.